NC Blue Heron Bowl: Chapel Hill Feb. 7

January 30, 2015 | Katie Mosher

The 2015 Blue Heron Bowl will take place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on Feb. 7. Twelve North Carolina schools participating in the quiz bowl are from Alamance, Camden, Dare, Durham, New Hanover, Orange and Wake counties.

Contact:
Janelle Fleming, Blue Heron Bowl, 252-726-6323, Janelle.fleming@gmail.com
Katie Mosher, NC Sea Grant, 919-515-9069, kmosher@ncsu.edu

2015 NC Coastal Policy Fellows Named

January 28, 2015 | E-Ching Lee

Carter Smith and Jamie Heath are the 2015 N.C. Coastal Policy Fellows. The fellowship, supported by North Carolina Sea Grant and the N.C. Coastal Resources Law, Planning and Policy Center, is designed to foster research on a policy issue within the state’s 20 coastal counties during an academic semester.

Contact: E-Ching Lee, 919-515-9098, eching_lee@ncsu.edu

Oyster Summit Set for March 10 to 11

January 23, 2015 | Rhett Register

Register now for the North Carolina Oyster Summit, titled Promoting a Healthy Coastal Environment and Economy, on March 10 and 11 at the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences in Raleigh. Hosted by the Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership, the North Carolina Coastal Federation and North Carolina Sea Grant, the summit is open to anyone working with or interested in oysters.

Contact: Rhett Register, 919-515-1092, rregister@ncsu.edu

NC Aquaculture Development Conference: New Bern Feb. 25 to 28

January 22, 2015 | Katie Mosher

More than 200 fish farmers, scientists and industry newcomers from across the Southeast will gather at the North Carolina Aquaculture Development Conference Feb. 25 to 28 to discuss research and current marketing trends for farm-raised fish and seafood.

Contact:
John Aydlett, NC Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services, 252-331-4773, john.aydlett@ncagr.gov
Cathy Smith, North Carolina State University, 919-515-6780, cathy_smith@ncsu.edu

Currituck County Earns 2014 Jones Award

January 20, 2015 | Katie Mosher

Currituck County is a winner of a 2014 Walter B. Jones Sr. Award for Excellence in Local Government.

Contact: Katie Mosher, 919-515-9069, katie_mosher@ncsu.edu