News Releases

  • January 30, 2015 SciREN Coast 2015 Networking Event: Pine Knoll Shores Feb. 12

    The SciREN Coast 2015 networking event on Feb. 12 at the North Carolina Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores will be an evening of relaxed conversations among educators and researchers. Researchers will provide educators with K-12 classroom-ready lesson plans based on their current work.

    Contact:
    Justin Ridge, SciREN, 252-726-6841 ext. 154, ridge@unc.edu
    Ethan Theuerkauf, SciREN, 252-726-6841, ejtheu@email.unc.edu
    Katie Mosher, NC Sea Grant, 919-515-9069, katie_mosher@ncsu.edu

  • January 30, 2015 NC Blue Heron Bowl: Chapel Hill Feb. 7

    The 2015 Blue Heron Bowl will take place at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill on Feb. 7. Twelve North Carolina schools participating in the quiz bowl are from Alamance, Camden, Dare, Durham, New Hanover, Orange and Wake counties.

    Contact:
    Janelle Fleming, Blue Heron Bowl, 252-726-6323, Janelle.fleming@gmail.com
    Katie Mosher, NC Sea Grant, 919-515-9069, kmosher@ncsu.edu

  • January 28, 2015 2015 NC Coastal Policy Fellows Named

    Carter Smith and Jamie Heath are the 2015 N.C. Coastal Policy Fellows. The fellowship, supported by North Carolina Sea Grant and the N.C. Coastal Resources Law, Planning and Policy Center, is designed to foster research on a policy issue within the state’s 20 coastal counties during an academic semester.

    Contact: E-Ching Lee, 919-515-9098, eching_lee@ncsu.edu

  • January 23, 2015 Oyster Summit Set for March 10 to 11

    Register now for the North Carolina Oyster Summit, titled Promoting a Healthy Coastal Environment and Economy, on March 10 and 11 at the North Carolina Museum of Natural Sciences in Raleigh. Hosted by the Albemarle-Pamlico National Estuary Partnership, the North Carolina Coastal Federation and North Carolina Sea Grant, the summit is open to anyone working with or interested in oysters.

    Contact: Rhett Register, 919-515-1092, rregister@ncsu.edu

  • January 22, 2015 NC Aquaculture Development Conference: New Bern Feb. 25 to 28

    More than 200 fish farmers, scientists and industry newcomers from across the Southeast will gather at the North Carolina Aquaculture Development Conference Feb. 25 to 28 to discuss research and current marketing trends for farm-raised fish and seafood.

    Contact:
    John Aydlett, NC Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services, 252-331-4773, john.aydlett@ncagr.gov
    Cathy Smith, North Carolina State University, 919-515-6780, cathy_smith@ncsu.edu