News Releases

  • February 4, 2016 NC Sea Grant Offers Shellfish Aquaculture Workshop

    North Carolina Sea Grant is offering a free Shellfish Aquaculture Workshop on Saturday, Feb. 13, 2016, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. The event will be held in conjunction with the North Carolina Aquaculture Development Conference at the Doubletree by Hilton Riverfront Hotel in New Bern.

    Contact:
    Chuck Weirich, 252-222-6314, chuck_weirich@ncsu.edu
    Vanda Lewis, 252-222-6307, vanda_lewis@ncsu.edu

  • February 1, 2016 NC Scholar Begins Knauss Fellowship

    Jaya Ghosh has started her duty as a Dean John A. Knauss Marine Policy fellow. She is from Duke University’s Nicholas School of the Environment. Funded by the National Sea Grant College Program, the fellowship honors John A. Knauss, a Sea Grant founder and former dean of the University of Rhode Island’s Graduate School of Oceanography.

    Contact: Katie Mosher, 919-515-9069, katie_mosher@ncsu.edu

  • January 29, 2016 NC Blue Heron Bowl Set for Feb. 6 in Morehead City

    The 2016 Blue Heron Bowl, a regional competition of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl (NOSB), will be held on Saturday, Feb. 6 on the campus of Carteret Community College in Morehead City, N.C. The UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, in concert with local business Seahorse Coastal Consulting, are hosting this event. Co-sponsors include North Carolina Sea Grant, NC Biotechnology Center and Discovery Diving.

    Contact:
    Kerry Irish, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, 252-726-6841 x126, Irish@unc.edu
    Janelle Fleming, Blue Heron Bowl, 252-269-0385, janelle.fleming@seahorsecoastal.com
    Katie Mosher, NC Sea Grant, 919-515-9069, kmosher@ncsu.edu

  • January 28, 2016 2016 Coastal Policy Fellows Named

    Alyssa Dykman and Michael Flynn are the 2016 Coastal Policy Fellows. The fellowship, supported by North Carolina Sea Grant and the N.C. Coastal Resources Law, Planning and Policy Center, is designed to foster research on a policy issue within the state’s 20 coastal counties during an academic semester.

    Contact:
    Lisa Schiavinato, 919-515-1895, lisa_schiavinato@ncsu.edu
    E-Ching Lee, 919-515-9098, eching_lee@ncsu.edu

  • January 15, 2016 Shape of the Coast Set for February

    The 2016 Shape of the Coast is scheduled for 8:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. on Feb. 12, at the Friday Center in Chapel Hill. This event is part of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill’s School of Law Festival of Legal Learning.

    Contact: Lisa Schiavinato, 919-515-1895, lisa_schiavinato@ncsu.edu