National Sea Grant Announces 50th Anniversary

March 7, 2016 | Katie Mosher

The National Sea Grant College Program was started 50 years ago in 1966. North Carolina Sea Grant is joining in the national celebration, which runs through March 2017.

Contact: Katie Mosher, North Carolina Sea Grant, kmosher@ncsu.edu, 919-515-9069

5th Annual NC Catch Summit Returns to Beaufort March 8

February 22, 2016 | Katie Mosher

NC Catch comes full circle with its fifth annual summit to be hosted by Carteret Catch, hosts of the inaugural event in 2012. The summit will be held on March 8 at the North Carolina Maritime Museum in Beaufort.

Contact: Ann Simpson, NC Catch Executive Director, 919-818-0122, acsimpson944@gmail.com

NC Sea Grant Offers Shellfish Aquaculture Workshop

February 4, 2016 | E-Ching Lee

North Carolina Sea Grant is offering a free Shellfish Aquaculture Workshop on Saturday, Feb. 13, 2016, from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. The event will be held in conjunction with the North Carolina Aquaculture Development Conference at the Doubletree by Hilton Riverfront Hotel in New Bern.

Contact:
Chuck Weirich, 252-222-6314, chuck_weirich@ncsu.edu
Vanda Lewis, 252-222-6307, vanda_lewis@ncsu.edu

NC Scholar Begins Knauss Fellowship

February 1, 2016 | Katie Mosher

Jaya Ghosh has started her duty as a Dean John A. Knauss Marine Policy fellow. She is from Duke University’s Nicholas School of the Environment. Funded by the National Sea Grant College Program, the fellowship honors John A. Knauss, a Sea Grant founder and former dean of the University of Rhode Island’s Graduate School of Oceanography.

Contact: Katie Mosher, 919-515-9069, katie_mosher@ncsu.edu

NC Blue Heron Bowl Set for Feb. 6 in Morehead City

January 29, 2016 | Katie Mosher

The 2016 Blue Heron Bowl, a regional competition of the National Ocean Sciences Bowl (NOSB), will be held on Saturday, Feb. 6 on the campus of Carteret Community College in Morehead City, N.C. The UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, in concert with local business Seahorse Coastal Consulting, are hosting this event. Co-sponsors include North Carolina Sea Grant, NC Biotechnology Center and Discovery Diving.

Contact:
Kerry Irish, UNC Institute of Marine Sciences, 252-726-6841 x126, Irish@unc.edu
Janelle Fleming, Blue Heron Bowl, 252-269-0385, janelle.fleming@seahorsecoastal.com
Katie Mosher, NC Sea Grant, 919-515-9069, kmosher@ncsu.edu